Member Systems

Providing Affordable and Reliable Local Transit Services in all of Iowa's 99 Counties

The Iowa Public Transit Association includes 35 public transit systems that provide local transit services in all of the state’s 99 counties. Iowa’s public transit system includes 19 urban and 16 regional systems. Urban systems provide scheduled route service and Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)-approved paratransit service in larger Iowa communities. Most regional systems offer demand responsive transit services over a multicounty area outside of the larger communities. Transit systems work with human service agencies, and others, to provide coordinated service for transportation in their areas.